Your wedding day is one of the biggest moments in your life. No one goes into a marriage thinking they're going to get divorced, but we all know it can happen.

The divorce rate in the United States is somewhere around 40 to 50 percent for first time marriages, however here in New Jersey we're one of the states with the fewest divorces.

Get our free mobile app

Probably because it's so expensive to live in this state. It's sometimes cheaper to stay together than get divorced.

There are some requirements when it comes to getting married in the state of New Jersey.

Photo by Luis Tosta on Unsplash
Photo by Luis Tosta on Unsplash
loading...

You have to be at least 18 years of age and not be in another civil union, domestic partnership or marriage.

When applying for a license, you have to show identification, proof of residency, your social security number, have a witness and pay a $28 application fee, according to NJ.gov.

You have to apply for the marriage license in the municipality where either party lives, but it's valid throughout New Jersey.

Photo by Beatriz Pérez Moya on Unsplash
Photo by Beatriz Pérez Moya on Unsplash
loading...

After you apply for a marriage license you have to wait 72 hours before the license is issued. There is NO 72 hour waiting period for a remarriage, but you do have to bring a certified copy of your exiting marriage.

So is there a legal limit to how many times you can tie the knot here in New Jersey?

The answer is NO. There is no legal limit to the number of times a person can get married in the state of New Jersey.

5 Weird and Funny New Jersey Laws; Who Knew?

13 of South Jersey's Most Breathtaking Wedding Venues

If you're looking for a breathtaking place to exchange vows and have a reception that will wow your guests, check out one of these romantic venues in South Jersey.

Gallery Credit: Heather DeLuca

More From 94.3 The Point